How do I find my inspiration


As artists, in order to express our unique vision, we need to feel inspired first. We become desperate and thirsty to find inspiration for our art, that we might not look in the right places. The answer could be right in front of our eyes and we’ve never even noticed it because we never took the time to notice it. So next time you’re doing something ordinary, like going home from a long day of work, don’t hurry up, take your time. You might get inspired by the shapes of a building, or color combination of a street sign with the background of the sky, or the composition of some parked cars along the streets. Everything could be a source of inspiration if we look at it the right way.

 

I personally can’t describe exactly where I find inspiration for my work, as I find it everywhere I look. Whenever I spot details that are either just aesthetically pleasing or have an interesting and inspiring vibe to them, I can’t resist taking a photo of it, as it’s the only way to capture that moment without getting lost in the memory. It’s not necessarily a concept or a word, it’s more like a visual representation of what I want to express. Thinking as a fashion designer, the aesthetic is what comes to me first in mind and probably is the most important aspect, because if the visual experience is done well, it’s strong enough to express the symbolism behind it. I also think that besides visual harmony, fashion should also have a message behind it.

 

Here are examples of some photos that I have collected over the years and that I created mood boards with. Even though each photo reflects a different vibe, the association between them is what creates the wanted atmosphere.

mood3

 

 

mood2

 

 

mood1

So I think that once we start to dissect every inch of our everyday life and surroundings, we’ll be surprised by how easy it is to feel inspired.

 

 


Leave a comment